The scholar : a novel
—McTiernan, Dervla, author.
Book
2019
4 available of 5 items

When Dr. Emma Sweeney stumbles across the victim of a hit-and-run outside Galway University early one morning, she calls her boyfriend, Detective Cormac Reilly, bringing him first to the scene of a murder that would otherwise never have been assigned to him. The dead girl is carrying an ID that will put this crime at the center of a scandal -- her card identifies her as Carline Darcy, heir apparent to Darcy Therapeutics, Ireland's most successful pharmaceutical company. Darcy Therapeutics has a finger in every pie, from sponsoring university research facilities to funding political parties to philanthropy -- it has even funded Emma's own ground-breaking research. As the murder investigation twists in unexpected ways and Cormac's running of the case comes under scrutiny from the department and his colleagues, he is forced to question himself and the beliefs that he has long held as truths. Who really is Emma? And who is Carline Darcy? A gripping and atmospheric follow-up to The ruin, an "expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden" (Karen Dionne, author of The Marsh King's Daughter), The Scholar is perfect for fans of Tana French and Flynn Berry.

Item Details
Subjects:
Galway (Ireland) -- Fiction.
Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction.
Police -- Ireland -- Galway -- Fiction.
Genre:
Detective and mystery fiction.
ISBN:
9780143133698
0143133691
Description:
360 pages : illustrations ; 21 cm
LCCN:
2019005192
Link to PAC
More Information