20525 Results
Literary Form
20525 Results
The Diamond Eye : A Novel. —Quinn, Kate.

Kate Quinn returns with an unforgettable WWII tale of a quiet librarian who becomes historys deadliest female sniper. Based on a true story, 'The Diamond Eye' is a haunting novel of heroism born of desperation, of a moth...

With you always —Hedlund, Jody, author.
Large Print
2017
Availability: 0 of 5

When a financial crisis in 1850s New York leaves three orphaned sisters nearly destitute, the oldest, Elise Neumann, knows she must take action. She's had experience as a seamstress, and the New York Children's Aid Socie...

The evening and the morning —Follett, Ken.
Large Print
2020
Availability: 5 of 10

"It is 997 CE, the end of the Dark Ages. England is facing attacks from the Welsh in the west and the Vikings in the east. Those in power bend justice according to their will, regardless of ordinary people and often in c...

Rainwater —Brown, Sandra, 1948-

"The year is 1934. With the country in the stranglehold of drought and economic depression, Ella Barron runs her Texas boardinghouse with an efficiency that ensures her life will be kept in balance. Between chores of coo...

The death of my country : the plains of Abraham diary of Geneviève Aubuchon —Trottier, Maxine.

In May 1759, Abenaki Indian Geneviève Aubuchon must choose between remaining with her friends in Québec or retreating to the Abenaki mission at St. Francis so that she may be safe. Includes historical note.

Unforgiven —Balogh, Mary, author.
Large Print
2016
Availability: 5 of 10

"New York Times bestselling author Mary Balogh returns to Regency England in the second novel of her Horsemen Trilogy, a tale of unforgiven sins and unforgettable passion. Moira Hayes hadn't seen Kenneth Woodfall in near...

Murder at the Royal Botanic Gardens —Penrose, Andrea, author.

The upcoming marriage of the Earl of Wrexford and Lady Charlotte Sloane promises to be a highlight of the season, if they can first untangle--and survive--a web of intrigue and murder involving the most brilliant scienti...

A Beautiful Spy. —Hore, Rachel.

Minnie Gray is an ordinary young woman. She is also a spy for the British government. Set in the summer of 1928 and full of suspense, courage, and love, 'A Beautiful Spy' is a stunningly written story about resisting the...

Matrix A Novel. —Groff, Lauren.
Large Print
2021
Availability: 0 of 7

In 'Matrix' by Lauren Groff, cast out of the royal court by Eleanor of Aquitaine, deemed too coarse and rough-hewn for marriage or courtly life, 17-year-old Marie de France is sent to England to be the new prioress of an...

We were the lucky ones —Hunter, Georgia, 1978- author.
Large Print
2017
Availability: 2 of 4

An extraordinary, propulsive novel based on the true story of a family of Polish Jews who scatter at the start of the Second World War, determined to survive, and to reunite.

Everyone knows your mother is a witch —Galchen, Rivka, author.

"Drawing on real historical documents but infused with the intensity of imagination, sly humor, and intellectual fire for which award-winning author Rivka Galchen's writing is known, Everyone Knows Your Mother Is a Witch...

News of the world : a novel —Jiles, Paulette, 1943- author.

"In the aftermath of the Civil War, an aging itinerant news reader agrees to transport a young captive of the Kiowa back to her people in this exquisitely rendered, morally complex, multilayered novel of historical ficti...

Small reckonings : a novel —Melberg Schwier, Karin, 1959- author.

Small Reckonings is a work of historical prairie fiction set in the 1920s and 30s, and recently won the Saskatchewan Writers Guild John V. Hicks Award for Long Fiction. The Hicks jury consisted of Canadian fiction writer...

Meant to be —Deveraux, Jude, author.

The award-winning author of "A Knight in Shining Armor" presents a historical family saga chronicling the lives and loves of three generations of women in a small Kansas community.

The weight of ink —Kadish, Rachel, author.

"An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A. S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of In...

The Red Cross orphans —Peters, Glynis, author.

Orphan Kitty Pattison is young, naïve and ready to do her bit for the war effort when she volunteers with the Red Cross and pledges to help those most in need. It's one of the most nerve-wracking moments of her life, bu...

No safe harbour : the Halifax explosion diary of Charlotte Blackburn —Lawson, Julie, 1947-

Twelve year old Charlotte Blackburn receives a diary from her brother serving overseas in France during World War One and uses it to record the events leading up to and following the Halifax Explosion of December 6, 1917...

The book of longings —Kidd, Sue Monk, author.

"In her fourth work of fiction, Sue Monk Kidd brings her acclaimed narrative gifts to imagine the story of a young woman named Ana. Raised in a wealthy family in Sepphoris with ties to the ruler of Galilee, she is rebell...

1 2 3 ...