155 Results
155 Results
We were the lucky ones —Hunter, Georgia, 1978- author.
Large Print
2017
0 available of 5 items

An extraordinary, propulsive novel based on the true story of a family of Polish Jews who scatter at the start of the Second World War, determined to survive, and to reunite.

Heartwood : a novel —Plain, Belva.
Book
2011
39 available of 41 items

Though Iris Stern considers herself a modern woman, with a successful academic career and a happy marriage, she still holds steadfast to her old-fashioned sensibilities. But as the mother of three adult children, each wi...

The sight of the stars —Plain, Belva.
Book
2004
36 available of 38 items

The son of an Irish immigrant mother and a Jewish peddler father, Adam Arnring grows up in turn-of-the-century America determined to shape his own destiny and builds what is to become one of the country's great retail co...

Holding my breath : a novel —Ludwig, Sidura.
Book
2007
2 available of 4 items

The debt of Tamar : a novel —Dweck, Nicole.
Book
2015
4 available of 5 items

"Four hundred years before Oskar Schindler there was Suleiman the Magnificent, an Ottoman sultan who rescued thousands of Jews from the Inquisition. Inspired by this amazing moment in history, Nicole Dweck has imagined a...

Heartwood [a novel] —Plain, Belva.
Book On CD
2011
0 available of 1 items

Though Iris Stern considers herself a modern woman, with a successful academic career and a happy marriage, she still holds steadfast to her old-fashioned sensibilities. But as the mother of three adult children, each wi...

The queen's fool a novel —Gregory, Philippa.
Large Print
2004
2 available of 3 items

In 1553, Hannah Green, a young Jewish girl, flees to London to escape the Spanish Inquisition and catches the attention of Robert Dudley, who plans to use her talents for observation and second sight.

The brothers of Auschwitz —Adler, Malka, 1946- author.
Book
2020
5 available of 35 items

"Dov and Yitzhak live in a small village in the mountains of Hungary, isolated both from the world and from the horrors of the war. But one day in 1944, everything changes. The Nazis storm the homes of the Jewish village...

The sweetness : a novel —Berger, Sande Boritz.
Book
2014
2 available of 2 items

We were strangers once : a novel —Carter, Betsy, 1945- author.
Book
2017
9 available of 11 items

"For readers of The Nightingale and, an exquisitely moving novel about friendship, love, and redemption in a circle of immigrants who flee Europe for 1930s-era New York City. On the eve of World War II Egon Schneider--a ...

Heir to the glimmering world —Ozick, Cynthia.
Book
2004
1 available of 3 items

We were the lucky ones —Hunter, Georgia, 1978- author.
Book
2018
5 available of 20 items

An extraordinary, propulsive novel based on the true story of a family of Polish Jews who scatter at the start of the Second World War, determined to survive, and to reunite. It is the spring of 1939, and three generati...

The sight of the stars —Plain, Belva.
Large Print
2004
17 available of 18 items

Adam Arnring, son of an Irish immigrant and a Jewish peddler, heads West and lays the foundations of what will become one of the country's greatest retail companies. But along the way, love and war intervene, testing the...

The plum tree —Wiseman, Ellen Marie.
Book
2013
3 available of 5 items

In the fall of 1938, as Germany rapidly changes under Hitler's regime, 17-year-old Christine Bolz, a domestic forbidden to return to the wealthy Jewish family she works for - and to her employer's son Isaac, confronts th...

Open doors —Goldreich, Gloria.
Book
2008
0 available of 1 items

Stone kiss —Kellerman, Faye.
Book
2002
32 available of 32 items

When a relative of LAPD Lieutenant Peter Decker is murdered in New York, he and his wife Rina Lazarus go to help with the investigation and quickly find themselves drawn into a maze of deceit and danger in the Hasidic co...

Goldberg variations : a novel —Isaacs, Susan, 1943-
Book
2012
13 available of 14 items

Disobedience
DVD
2018
27 available of 31 items

A woman returns to the community that shunned her for her attraction to a childhood friend. Once back, their passions reignite as they explore the boundaries of faith and sexuality.

A catered affair —Margolis, Sue.
Book
2011
4 available of 4 items

The plot against America —Roth, Philip, author.
Book
2005
7 available of 13 items

In a novel of alternative history, aviation hero Charles A. Lindbergh defeats Franklin Roosevelt in the 1940 presidential election, negotiating an accord with Adolf Hitler and accepting his conquest of Europe and anti-Se...

1 2 3 ...