44 Results
Literary Form
44 Results
This one wild life : a mother-daughter wilderness memoir —Abdou, Angie, 1969- author.

Disillusioned with overly competitive organized sports and concerned about her lively daughter's growing shyness, author Angie Abdou sets herself a challenge: to hike a peak a week over the summer holidays with Katie. Th...

Take me outside : running across the Canadian landscape that shapes us —Harris, Colin, author.

One educator's story detailing a cross-Canada run to inspire students and teachers to get outside and experience the benefits and beauty of nature. You'd think starting a non-profit organization aimed at getting young pe...

Renewal : how nature awakens our creativity, compassion, and joy —Edwards, Andrés R., 1959- author.

"Renewal explores the science behind why being in nature makes us feel alive and helps us thrive. Backed by cutting-edge research in cognitive science, Edwards weaves stories that reveal nature's genius, its effect on ou...

Wild mind : a field guide to the human psyche —Plotkin, Bill, 1950-

Depth psychologist and wilderness guide Plotkin offers advice on recognizing and healing inner wounds and destructive patterns of behavior, which can develop into subpersonalities such as inner critics, victims, escapist...

Losing Eden : why our minds need the wild —Jones, Lucy (Journalist), author.

Today many of us live indoor lives, disconnected from the natural world as never before. And yet nature remains deeply ingrained in our language, culture and consciousness. For centuries, we have acted on an intuitive se...

The road is how : a prairie pilgrimage through nature, desire, and soul —Herriot, Trevor, author.

Prairie naturalist Trevor Herriot decides the road is how. Recovering from a misstep that could have been his last, he decides to go for a walk to sort through questions that rushed in upon the enforced stillness of wait...

The heartbeat of trees : embracing our ancient bond with forests and nature —Wohlleben, Peter, 1964- author.

"In an era of cell phone addiction and ever-expanding cities, many of us fear we've lost our connection to nature - but Peter Wohlleben is convinced that age-old ties linking humans to the forest remain alive and intact....

Climate : a new story —Eisenstein, Charles, 1967- author.

"Flipping the script on climate change, Eisenstein makes a case for a wholesale reimagining of the framing, tactics, and goals we employ in our journey to heal from ecological destruction With research and insight, Charl...

21 rituals to connect with nature —Francis-Cheung, Theresa, author.

Following on from the success of Theresa Cheung's previous 21 Ritual series comes a nature-based daily practice book. It contains 21 simple, easy daily rituals to help you tune into the natural world around you helping y...

Birds art life —Maclear, Kyo, 1970- author.

"For fans of When Breath Becomes Air and H is for Hawk, an elegant and exuberant memoir about a year of bird-watching, reflection and art -- a field guide to things small and significant. For Vladimir Nabokov, it was but...

Biophilic design the architecture of life

Biophilic design is an innovative way of designing the places where we live, work, and learn. People need nature in a deep and fundamental fashion, but we have often designed our cities and suburbs in ways that both degr...

There's no such thing as bad weather : a Scandinavian mom's secrets for raising healthy, resilient, and confident kids (from friluftsliv to hygge) —McGurk, Linda Akeson, author.

A memoir about a mother who sets out to discover if the nature-centric parenting philosophy of her native Scandinavia holds the key to healthier, happier lives for her American children. When Swedish-born Linda McGurk mo...

The nature principle : reconnecting with life in a virtual age —Louv, Richard.

"In this book the author argues that a strong connection to nature is essential for human health. Supported by research, anecdotal evidence, and personal stories, the author shows how tapping into the restorative powers ...

1 2 3