456 Results
Literary Form
456 Results
Sgt. Stubby an American hero

The incredible true story of a stray dog who became a hero of the First World War. For his keen instincts and fierce loyalty, Stubby is still recognized today as the most decorated canine in American history and the firs...

A farewell to arms —Hemingway, Ernest, 1899-1961, author.

"Set in the waning days of the First World War, A Farewell to Arms (1929) is the epic love story of American ambulance driver Frederic Henry and British V.A. D. Catherine Barkley, drawn together yet torn apart by the tid...

The poppy wife : a novel of the Great War —Scott, Caroline, author.

"A sweeping tale of forbidden love, true loss, and the startling truth of the broken families left behind in the wake of World War I, The poppy wife is an unforgettable debut novel for fans of Jennifer Robson and Hazel G...

Gift from the sea —Schmidt, Anna, 1943-
Large Print
2015
Availability: 0 of 2

A steadfast faith kept nurse Maggie Hunter going through the Great War. But her fiancé's death overseas shattered her trust in God and her heart. Now an injured man has washed up on the shores of her Nantucket home. Wart...

Malcolm MacPhail's Great War —Duthie, Darrell, author.

"The horror of war. The valour of men. A war-weary young officer joins the intelligence staff as WW1 near a critical juncture. Meticulously researched, Malcolm MacPhail's Great War is an historical novel of gritty realis...

Lovely war —Berry, Julie, 1974- author.

It's 1917, and World War I is at its zenith when Hazel and James first catch sight of each other at a London party. She's a shy and talented pianist; he's a newly minted soldier with dreams of becoming an architect. When...

The foreshadowing —Sedgwick, Marcus.

Set against the backdrop of World War I, this novel is about a girl with a tragic gift - Sasha can see the future - but can she use her power to save her brothers and change their destiny?

Snow country —Faulks, Sebastian, author.

Looking back to the Vienna of Klimt and Freud and forward to the shadow that is starting to fall over Europe, Sebastian Faulks's new novel is an intensely personal story that focuses on Lena, a spirited girl born with no...

The poppy wife : a novel of the Great War —Scott, Caroline, author.
Large Print
2020
Availability: 2 of 2

"In the tradition of Jennifer Robson and Hazel Gaynor, this unforgettable debut novel is a sweeping tale of forbidden love, profound loss, and the startling truth of the broken families left behind in the wake of World W...

Westfront 1918

Follows the lives of four soldiers stationed in France in the final months of World War I.

Vicissitudes of war —Duthie, Darrell, author.

"Newly-promoted lieutenant Malcolm MacPhail arrives in Albert, France feeling himself lucky to have left behind the sodden trenches of the Salient. Until he glimpses the battlefield. The Boche guns are thundering somethi...

Fall of giants —Follett, Ken.
Large Print
2014
Availability: 0 of 1

Follows the fate of five interrelated families - American, German, Russian, English, and Welsh - as they move through the dramas of the First World War, the Russian Revolution, and the struggle for women's suffrage.

At night all blood is black —Diop, David, 1966- author.

"A Sengalese soldier loses his mind in the trenches of World War I"-- Provided by publisher.

1 2 3 ...